Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2008, 12:26 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Quesitions on a Slant Roof

Im debating putting a slanted roof on my pole garage. Im in the building proceess and not to the roof yet, so i thought i' ask. My building will be 22' by 38'. My main concern is strength. Compared to a conventional styles roof with trusses, what is the strength difference compared to a slanted roof and what bracing will i need to do with a slant roof?

jk333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 02:01 AM   #2
Theres more then one way.

Rewards Points: 150

Im no engineer, but i would think if you have a 22' span and used a slanted roof your "weak" point would be at the 11' mark.
If you have a 22' and used a gable style your weak point would shift to two spots at 5-1/2 foot marks (which would seam stronger to me), thats if you used the same dimensioned lumber for both.
With a gable roof i would think wind would be more an issue then with a slant roof.
Could be completely wrong with all that, so take it with a grain of salt

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 02:25 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by jk333 View Post
Im debating putting a slanted roof on my pole garage. Im in the building proceess and not to the roof yet, so i thought i' ask. My building will be 22' by 38'. My main concern is strength. Compared to a conventional styles roof with trusses, what is the strength difference compared to a slanted roof and what bracing will i need to do with a slant roof?
Shed roofs stay up by shear brute force. There is no shifting of weight like other types of roofs. It is just a cap on a building.