Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2013, 09:08 PM   #1
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Share |
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


The house in question was built in the early seventies, in the southern United States (Hot summers, cool winters). It has plywood siding and paneling on the inside. I changed out a through-the-wall air conditioner and noticed that there is no tar paper or any other "housewrap" on the outside, just some black particle board and siding on top of that.

I am planning on doing some remodeling, and maybe changing siding in the next couple of years. If I do, should I look into putting some Tyvek housewrap or some felt onto the house?

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 09:17 PM   #2
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,811
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


yes as this is your weather barrier to prevent moisture that makes it way through the siding from entering your walls.

__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,898
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


That black "Partical board" is really called fiberboard.
http://inspectapedia.com/structure/F..._Sheathing.htm
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:10 AM   #4
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Was if normal to skip a felt layer back then? Or is this just likely a builder mess-up?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 06:40 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,870
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


My guess would be that the builder just skipped it and got away with it. There's a housing development here that was built by a large local builder just five years ago. Huge colonial-style houses that sold then for $300K and up. Last year's derecho wind blew some vinyl siding off of about a dozen of them. Guess what? No house wrap on any of them (and the sheathing is OSB). Obviously, somebody got paid off - when I built my house here, there was a specific inspection to verify the presence of house wrap.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 09:04 AM   #6
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Yes the house is in a rural area, so I doubt there was any sort of inspection at the time it was built.

Those derecho winds are something else, we had one through here about ten years ago, did some serious damage.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 07:25 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,870
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Those derecho winds are something else, we had one through here about ten years ago, did some serious damage.
Until last year's came through, I had never even heard of a derecho. There'd never been one anywhere near here before. Fortunately, our house was untouched and we didn't even lose any trees. Ours is a log house we built by ourselves, which has now survived a derecho, an earthquake, a small tornado (yes, even WV has them once in a while), and 5 feet of snow standing on the roof, all with no damage. Guess we must've built it right.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:22 AM   #8
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


We had never heard of one either. I remember it ripped a front of a building off in the city. Out Here it just took down a bunch of trees and power lines. People didn't have electricity for two weeks.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:07 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,870
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Out Here it just took down a bunch of trees and power lines. People didn't have electricity for two weeks.
That's our biggest worry. We've never lost power for that long, but do lose it for a few days every winter. And since ours is a rural, mountainous area in Eastern WV, if there's more than about a foot of snow, we're snowed in for a while. Having a wood stove, we won't freeze, but without power to the well pump, we have no water (well, I guess we could melt snow on the wood stove).
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:28 AM   #10
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk

That's our biggest worry. We've never lost power for that long, but do lose it for a few days every winter. And since ours is a rural, mountainous area in Eastern WV, if there's more than about a foot of snow, we're snowed in for a while. Having a wood stove, we won't freeze, but without power to the well pump, we have no water (well, I guess we could melt snow on the wood stove).
Most of the people who were out for that long were actually in the city. The problem was crime went up drastically because everybody was in the dark. We have some land in the country, and they had power restored in three days.
I think they may have an "incentive" to get it on faster, because everyone has wells.
We bought a generator after that; what concerns me there is there's always a risk that gas stations are out or some other reason.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:38 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,870
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Yes, we have a generator too. But our well is over 700 feet deep so it wouldn't come close to powering the pump. When needed, we just hook it up to the RV parked outside and "camp" for a few days.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #12
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Putting House wrap on old house.


Whatever works

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aluminum house wrap for ceiling in warehouse cutbait Building & Construction 11 02-17-2013 09:47 PM
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
house wrap or foam baker board first. fricandfrac Building & Construction 3 06-07-2009 06:16 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
house wrap? Neil_K Building & Construction 3 12-22-2004 09:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.