Proper Wall Construction - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-10-2011, 01:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

proper wall construction

Hi all - First post here!

I am a student of home construction, and I keep learning new thing with this foreclosure I bought!

Due to a carpenter ant issue, I had to open up my walls to git rid of the buggers. When I did I found an oddity, and wonder if it is right. First off I live in Southern MI, so that may influence your answer.

My wall is constructed from inside out like this:
Drywall, 2x4 wall w/ R11 insulation (with V-barrier face), foil faced foam board and vinyl siding.

I know I have an issue with the siding as it was done all wrong and has caused some leaks and rot. My question is with regards to the foam board, shouldn't there be plywood and then foam? I do see what appears to be a metal strip that runs on a 45 across the wall. I assume for strength.

From what I can see, the 2x4 walls look to be in good shape (less the areas where the siding was mucked up). And the house is what almost 30 years old. So I have to assume that it was ok with just the foam board.

When I go to reside the house, should I be looking to replace the foam, with wood, then say a half inch of foam, then a wrap and finally side it?

Another question: Since I have the drywall down and the R11 insulation close at hand, does it make sense replace it with r13? I tried to find r15 but at the moment I have not been able to locate it.

One other thought that might save some money, would be to bring in spray foam to the wall cavity, and leave the foil in place, just reside it? I would think the spray foam would provide additional strength, w/o the huge added expense of resheating the exterior.