Poured Cinder Foundation - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-28-2010, 04:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Poured Cinder Foundation

I am a structural engineer with over 35 years construction experience. I recently ran across a type of foundation I have never seen before. The basement walls appear to be cinder block. However, upon closer inspection there are no joints or mortar. I know this because there are cracks through the 8" thick foundation wide enough to see the internal surface. Also, the interior parging is flaking off in large amounts to see joints if they existed. The cinder itself is crumbling to the touch. The house was built circa 1900. Could this be an early form of a poured foundation, or perhaps panels? I have tried researching, but to no aveal. Poured cinder concrete - really?

Advertisement

hugheslar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 12:07 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Poured Cinder Foundation

Pictures would help.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:52 AM   #3

Poured Cinder Foundation

I know exactly what you are talking about. My home was built in the early 1900s. My town was concieved thru the Pennsylvania Rail Raod. Therefore coal cinder was never is short supply. My foundation is crumbling pretty bad. It does not appear that there was ever any kind of 'binder' mixed in. Clinkers and some rocks. I dug up along one corner of the house all the way to the bottom and it is litterally falling apart. Former owners stuccoed it, and it just masked the problems. I am not sure what to do to repair it. I am thinking about forming it, and pouring concrete against it. I will have to do it in stages, because I am afraind it might blow thru the wall on the inside of the basement. Anyone have any better suggestions?