Post In Or Post On Concrete - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 10:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Post in or post on concrete


I live in Iowa. My footer depth needs to be 42". Is it better to do a post in concrete or attach post on top of concrete? Is one more stable then the other or easier/quicker?

Advertisement

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 02:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Electric City wa
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Post in or post on concrete


I prefer to go on top of the concrete. The biggest reason is if you ever have a problem with the post it can be replaced much easier than if it where set in the concrete. I think it is easier to do that way also but that could be just because I have done it that way more.

Advertisement

warnerww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 02:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Post in or post on concrete


I had planned on doing post on top of the footer, but then I see so many people just putting the post right in the ground and throwing some cement in the hole. Is the lateral stability good with the post ON concrete?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Electric City wa
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Post in or post on concrete


All you need to do is use an approved anchor bracket at the base and it will work great. I have sunk a piece of re-bar into the concrete then drilled a hole in the center of the post (in a pinch). I do not like this method as well but when you have a homeowner that refuses to look at a bracket and the inspector says OK then I will do it. I do not like re-bar because it can rust and only the weight of the structure holds the post down. When I do it I use a lot of construction adhesive.
warnerww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 06:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Post in or post on concrete


Would this be the same for setting a post for a fence? Or should I do that differently?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Electric City wa
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Post in or post on concrete


Fence different story. Set them in concrete.

Advertisement

warnerww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleeve options for plumbing through concrete? Bruce L Plumbing 6 06-14-2008 10:38 AM
How do you measure poured concrete PSI? head_dunce Building & Construction 18 02-25-2007 09:58 PM
stone veneer formula tom1st Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 07-08-2006 05:48 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 11:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts