Post Load Capacity? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-17-2010, 12:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Post Load Capacity?

Is there an online resource to lookup post load capacities? Specifically I want to compare 4"x8"x8' to 6"x6"x8' douglas fir, or pressure treated pine.

Background: My unfinished garage, built in 1984 has four posts supporting two 3"x15"x24' (actual measurement) beams. These beams support floor joists below living, dining, and two bedrooms. The existing posts seem insufficient, and I am going to have them replaced before upgrading my 3-tab roof to heavier dimensional shingles.

The existing posts are made from three 2x4 studs nailed together in an I-beam configuration. Two of these posts exhibit visible bowing (one by almost three inches). A contractor I have never used before suggested replacing them with 6x6 posts, but I prefer 4x8, at least on the outside wall so that I will have the option of finishing over the posts in the future. On the outside wall the post could have a header installed to share some of the load the the adjacent 2x4 studs.

Any comments are much appreciated!

Advertisement

echase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:34 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Post Load Capacity?

in what direction?

1/3b h^3 is the basic formula for resisting bending. (that Base and Height looking at the rectangle cross section)

if you are inline with the 8" dimension that is clearly stronger, but if its bending along the narrow direction, it is weaker.

if you are talking pure compression of an un reinforced post, the 6x6 will be harder to buckle

Advertisement

forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:45 PM   #3

Post Load Capacity?