Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-09-2012, 05:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Please comment on my porch roof design

I want to run a porch roof design past you guys for review. I am a finish carpenter and cabinetmaker with some framing experience. I don't profess to know all about framing so I need some design help. We live in a 2 story colonial house built around 1940. The street side is about 40' wide. It has the front door centered and a window centered on each side of that, 1st and 2nd story. The windows have old metal awnings that cover half of the windows and stick out about 3'. My wife wants the awnings OFF! I think the front of the house will look scalped because it will be totally flat, then. I would like to put a porch type roof on all across the 40', without the porch underneath. The reason being, we are in Minnesota and a porch would have to have footings below frost line to be attached to the house. My plan is to install a ledger about 1' under the 2nd story windows and attach triangle trusses to the ledger with metal straps on top and brackets on the sides. At the bottom, I would install another ledger and attach the trusses with brackets to that ledger. I would close in the ends, sheat the top and underside, shingle the roof and install flashing, and trim it off with facia. I might add an accent gable roof over the door area for looks. For added support I would build 4 giant brackets, 4' out and 6' down with a scalloped diagonal. 2 would go at the ends and the other 2 would be centered in between. That is my design. Now I have another question...Can I build this right over the existing 10" masonite siding or do I need to cut that away and attach to the sheating underneath? Please give me your feedback. Thanks for any response.

MNsawyergp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
Disabled wood vet