Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-24-2012, 09:05 PM   #1

Share |

Playhouse for daughter

I'm looking at building a playhouse for my daughter, but I'm new to projects like this and could use some advice.

I found a floor plan online that would work using mostly supplies I already have (6' 2x4's, 6'x6' plywood siding):

http://www.buildeazy.com/newplans/playhouse_6x6_1.html

However, there are a few variations to the above plan I'm considering. I could use some help with on the design. Instead of a slanted roof, I was thinking it would be cool to have a flat roof that doubled as a balcony. Something like this:

http://images.craigslist.org/5I15H85...d81ee81469.jpg

My daughter likes the idea of a rope ladder to get up there, so I do not have to worry about stairs, but I'm not sure how to do the railing. Nor am I sure how to make it strong enough so that it doesn't collapse with a couple kids jumping around on top.

Also, I'm undecided if I want to put in glass windows and a door, or if it would be better to simply have openings. Any thoughts on this?

Finally, I will be building it on a slope. What would be the best way to level it?

Any help you could give will be great. Thanks!

Last edited by Style; 08-24-2012 at 09:15 PM.
Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 09:17 PM   #2

Playhouse for daughter

Good luck with a flat roof, looks cool but it's going to leak and cause damage below it.
Kids could care less about windows, leave them out or buy shed windows, just cheap single pained windows.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Style (08-24-2012)
Old 08-24-2012, 09:29 PM   #3

Playhouse for daughter

if you buy windows, consider changing out the glass for lexan or plexiglass or even safety glass. don't want the glass to break with jagged edges .....