Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 07:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Patching a hole from "rough in"


Hey guys-

First off what a great site. Many knoledgable people around. On to my question. I recently started working on finishing my basement. Needless to say a bathroom was a necessity. Living in an older home the rough in was not complete so I had to cut a section out of the floor, replace the main as well as the other cast below the ground to allow for a toilet, sink and shower drain. Well that is complete and it is time to fill the hole. I went to menards and the guy there said there was a special kind of quikrete to use that would help bond to the existing. That being said, my question is what needs to be done to prep the existing so that it does bond correctly? Do i simply chisel all sharp/rough edges or do I need to use a cleaning or bonding chemical or both?Patching a hole from "rough in"-basement1_resized.jpg

lk00331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Patching a hole from "rough in"


Here is the actual hole that I am dealing with.....that first pic was the before.
Attached Thumbnails
Patching a hole from "rough in"-20130414_144643_resized.jpg  

lk00331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:55 AM   #3
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,636
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default

Patching a hole from "rough in"


If you can taper the edge of the hole so the slab you put in is keystoned that will help. You can also drill 1/2 inch holes along the edge about center, and put rebar pins in the concrete, so the new slab is locked to the old. It is important to make sure you compact the soil and clean stone well, put in poly to keep moisture transmission down, and do not add too much water to the concrete.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Patching a hole from "rough in"


Thanks for the response.....I thought about rebar but wasn't sure if it was necessary given that it is a pretty small channel.....but if it needs to be done, so be it.
lk00331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to enlarge hole in wood top plate: or use flex with minimum OD. mysterylectric Electrical 3 08-09-2011 02:52 PM
Sump hole and water drain questions Ncasalejr Plumbing 1 06-21-2011 09:57 AM
Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole ccoulter350 Drywall & Plaster 6 03-06-2010 12:37 PM
Cutting out a hole on a stainless steel sink...pics Goldglv General DIY Discussions 14 02-28-2010 10:04 PM
Making an 8" hole in the brick Hushpuppy Building & Construction 6 11-28-2006 07:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.