Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2009, 11:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel codes


A friend recently asked me to build him some cabinets and a wet bar in his basement that was recently renovated. I went to visit and found what I think are a few problems. 1). Where the sink is to go in the bar there is the breaker panel about 2 feet above.Can you enclose the panel to meet code???? 2) In the past with building bars in the basement I've anchored the base for studiness, but in this case he has put a heated tile floor,which eliminates that approach. How can the bar be fastened?? ( I'm thinking PL 400 or adhesive of some sort) Thanks for your input.

Ontario

deman480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 06:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

panel codes


NEC, USA, requires a working space 30" wide, 3' deep around a service panel, so no, you can't put that sink there, or the bar for that matter.. Check Canadian code, but I suspect it is similar.

I would not rely on adhesives, bolts with anchors, tapcons, etc, woulds be some of my choices. You can anchor a 2x4 to the floor, set the bar frame over the 2x4 the anchor the framework to the 2x4.


Last edited by Just Bill; 05-19-2009 at 06:11 AM.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 06:12 AM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

panel codes


Yes, I am not sure of what the Canadian Building Codes may say, but the concept behind this particular code, is to allow an averaged size "fireman" to be able to fit into the space, in order to perform an emergency shut-off of the home's electrical system, were that need to occur. Thus, the panel cannot be re-stricted, or blocked and requires a minimum area (per code stipulation), around it.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:33 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel codes


Thanks guys, will consider all.
deman480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.