Which Option Would Be More Easier To Build? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-06-2013, 11:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Which option would be more easier to build?

.I'm in the process of renovating my house and was wondering which would be more cost efficient on average. I have a large backyard so I could add two bedrooms and a bathroom or build them on the second story. Since I'm new to renovating I was wondering which would be the better option?

Advertisement

lonewolf245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 12:05 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 740

Far easer to add on then try to add a second story.
While adding on you can still live in the house, there's no chance of water damage to the rest of the home.
Far less time having to deal with the power and water being off.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:07 AM   #3
JOATMON

Rewards Points: 2,650

As Joe said, much cheaper to add on to the back vs trying to build on top.

But just so I can have the fun of throwing a wrench in the works.......

Have you considered adding a 2-story addition to the back? The upstairs could be a real nice master bedroom and bath....

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:20 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,000

Agree that a second story to the addition is something to thank about. Much of the money goes into the foundation and roof - adding a second story can reduce the overall cost per square foot, and provide for more bang for the buck.
Old 03-07-2013, 03:12 AM   #5