Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-06-2009, 02:00 PM   #1

Share |

OMG rotted wallz!!

Hello All,
Let me start by saying Yes I am a newbie and I have been a long time thread readererer! I did do some searching however my questions still go unanswered. So heres the problem me and my wife purchased a 1978 ranch in NH 4 years ago we have been doing minor repairs and so on fixing flooring a couple additions. Ill spare the saga anyways recently I decided to go hands on with my bathroom which needed an update it was sporting one of those bathroom covers upon pulling it off HOLY ROT. I have noticed the floor was wet the framing around the window was rotted all the way down to the subfloor. Now the joist underneath are not rotted and Its limited to a small section. So several questions I have I am going to remove the siding and attempt to fix myself. As you can see from the images the rot goes to the bottom however the good news is from what i can see rot is limited to just belwo the window.

1. Is it better to fix from the outside or inside?
2. I noticed part of the subfloor is rotted is it okay to cut that piece out? (this is a non load bearing wall according to my friend)
I will attach some images of the damage so any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Newbie Frank
Attached Thumbnails
OMG rotted wallz!!-maries-picture-002.jpg   OMG rotted wallz!!-maries-picture-005.jpg   OMG rotted wallz!!-maries-picture-006.jpg   OMG rotted wallz!!-maries-picture-008.jpg  

workingonit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 02:48 PM   #2

OMG rotted wallz!!

WOW!!!
Looks like a mess... and looks like there might be some insect activity as well...