Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-18-2010, 11:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Old Building problems

Hello:

Newbie here.

I am perplexed by all the different types of insulation and roofing that would be best for this particular building. Any help appreciated.

Here is what I am up against:

When I was a kid, now 62, my father owned a commercial building, 2400 sq ft, in a small Midwest town in which we lived. He later gave it to the city which later sold it to a small business. Neither the city nor the small business took care of the building. The small business is located in another small town and was just using it for occasional storage and a delivery point for customers.

After my wife died of cancer the small business had stopped using the building so I bought the building for my kids from the small business. The roof leaked and even ruined a portion of the first floor. The moisture had ruined all of the drywall and ceiling tile from the basement to the first floor ceiling.

There is and was no insulation in the building at all, anywhere.

The building was built before the turn of the century, about 1890. It was a single story building with a high roof. The roof rafters are supported by being placed directly into the brick side walls. It is 30 feet wide by 80 feet long. It also has a lengthwise dividing brick wall that goes from the basement foundation to the roof and provides roof span support. The building is sandwiched between two other buildings so itís only exposed on the front, back and of course the roof.

The biggest problem with the building is the roof. It is the older style commercial roof with a single slope of about 7 degrees from front to back. These types of roofs tend to leak if you do not keep up with the maintenance.

We have now stopped all the roof leaks.