New Generator - Where Do I Put It?? - Building & Construction - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2011, 01:56 PM   #16
Is this wire Hot?
 
Oh-Fudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 158
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


ditto, the doghouse idea. I don't know how much property you have, but I built an elevated doghouse sized enclosure about 50 feet from the house in the woods and ran an underground cable to the house. All I have to do is go to the doghouse, open the hinged door, fire up the gen, go to the basement and flip the transfer switch. I made a cutout for the exhaust port and put in one of those heat resistant dryer vents to keep critters out. I also made the roof hinged so I could open it up to gas up. For the floor I used 2x6's spaced like a deck so there is plenty of fresh air intake.

Advertisement

Oh-Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oh-Fudge For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (09-02-2011)
Old 09-02-2011, 02:55 PM   #17
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
Cat burglars.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:46 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,763
Rewards Points: 40
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
my husband wants one badly. "if we lose everything in the freezer it would have paid for a generator" my only problem with it is:

In four years our power has been out for a total of 6 hours...

By the Monday after Irene out publicly owned utility was sending their crews out to other counties, 'cause thy didn't have anything left to fix
I used to think that but this last storm (Irene) knocked our power out for 11 hours. That's still not too bad but my mother-in-law who lives a block over lost her power for 3 days and the utility told everybody that it could take up to two weeks. In our area there were not enough crews to repair all the lines knocked down by trees in a timely manner. Now I'm thinking in terms of a back up generator.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 10:29 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim F View Post
I used to think that but this last storm (Irene) knocked our power out for 11 hours. That's still not too bad but my mother-in-law who lives a block over lost her power for 3 days and the utility told everybody that it could take up to two weeks. In our area there were not enough crews to repair all the lines knocked down by trees in a timely manner. Now I'm thinking in terms of a back up generator.
I bought a portable generator 8 years ago when a big box store was selling them on clearance. I've used it on my house three times. After the last storm for 5 days straight. It made life just about normal.
I've decided to buy a standby generator to replace this. Long term usage of a portable is a pain. Forty gallons of gasoline. With a wide spread outage, stations can't pump gas without power, at least not on Long Island.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:26 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


If you can't bring the generator indoors, get a bag of concrete mix and an 8' length of 1/2" rebar. Bend the rebar into a "U" and stick it down into a regular post hole. make the steel come to within about 2" below the surface, so if you want to get rid of it all you have to do is fill in the hole Fill with the concrete mix and water. to within 6" of the surface, leaving a 4" loop of rebar. In a few days, you have a pretty good anchor for a chain to your generator. As with most things, the only thing you can do is deter / slow down casual thieves. A pro will get your generator no matter what you do, maybe right out of your basement.

Me, I'm going for a stationary standby generator, just ordered one this morning.....and we live in the country anyhow. A thief might try to carry that genset off, too, but before that he might have to say hello to Mr. Smith and Mr. Wesson......
rico567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 09:04 PM   #21
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

New generator - Where do I put it??


We had a 30 minute power outage today (a supply line to the entire town failed). Sooooooo..... of course, my sweet deluded husband is online shopping for generators.

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts