New Build - Roof Design - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-02-2009, 06:17 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

New Build - Roof Design

I am currently drawing plans for a future home build. I need to know the feasibility of a shed (lean-to, mono slope) style roof. What are the span limitations? Truss designs available? In particular, I need to know what the maximum spacing between trusses would be. I'm planning a horizontal span of 32' with a 4/12 pitch and a total roof length of 64'. I'm hoping to design this single story with very open, vaulted ceilings (basically no attic). I'm assuming I will need to come up with some sort of traditional rafter/truss hybrid system? I am very new to this and I'm sure I've left out many important details. So please ask for any further information needed. And don't hesitate to tell me that my plan is not feasible. Thanks

Advertisement

jw_shade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:38 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10

New Build - Roof Design

anyone have any suggestions? I am new this forum but was hoping for some kind of general input

Advertisement

jw_shade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:07 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

New Build - Roof Design

You are going to want to go to your truss company of lumber supplier and have them run the engineering specs on your layout. I have seen mono trusses that were close to that size, but you will have to provide the truss company with the load points. If you use a mono truss you will have a shallower pitch on the bottom of the truss then on the top side of it. The only other way you might be able to do it is with an I-joists. They might make it that span, but again you have to have the lumber company run the engineering.
RobQuillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:37 AM   #4