Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-11-2014, 08:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

New basement remodeling

Hi everyone, new to this forum. Looks like a great community. I'm hoping to just bounce some ideas off of some of you.

Little back story on my situation. I built a new home a little over a year ago. I am finishing the basement myself. I have some construction experience (mostly as a framer) and am pretty good with most tools. Like most of you I'm assuming, the only way I can afford to get all the things done I want I have to do the most I possibly can myself. I have my entire basement framed. It's about 1000 sqft. It has 2 bedrooms 1 I completely finished. 1 bathroom, which I am working on right now, and will have one rec room that's about 25x20.

I won't load a thousand questions into this post since it's already a mile long but plan on just asking questions as they come up and hope you guys can give me some input.

I just had 3 plumbers over the last 2 days for some bids. The bathroom was roughed in when it was built but I do not like the placement of the toilet and want to have my vanity moved on an interior wall about 5' from the vent pipe.

After plumbing is done, before I hang drywall, what is recommended with use of insulation and vapor barriers in bathrooms? I have heard multiple things. In the finished bedroom I ran r19 unfazed fiberglass between the floor joists. Not as any heat/cool purpose but more of sound Barrier. Is it dangerous to put insulation around the bathroom with all the moisture? How about vapor Barrier, I've heard that can stop it from breathing and cause issues? Thanks

Oh Btw, I'm in Iowa, so it's anywhere from - 50 windchill (right now) to 110 in the summer with 95% humidity

JReuter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 08:30 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 20

New basement remodeling