New Basement In High Water Table - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2009, 05:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

New basement in high water table

I am planning a new home in Maine on city sewer and water. I have a flat lot and the area is known for a high water table, though I am not sure exactly how high. Does the technology exist today to dig a full basement and prevent it from flooding during the snow melt and rainy season? If so should I price in a 50% increase in cost or 100%? Or should I forgo a full basement and stick with a crawl space.

Advertisement

eds1618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 06:20 PM   #2
long island, NY

Rewards Points: 250

I'm no expert.... but my family has been battling basement water issues for decades

I can't tell you how much we wish we had no basement! Instead, invest in a larger garage to store your stuff and have your heater...

(next spring, we're going to dig around the perimeter of the basement and tar the walls..... and rebuild the window well for the gazillionth time )

Advertisement

diy'er on LI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 07:35 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,456

whew, JUST got here in time fortunately, i am an expert w/even successfully treated homes in nj, nassau, & suffolk on my resume,,, take a look at my site & the associated links,,, then if you have questions, feel free to e-mail & ask away,,, conc foundations're better'n block but block will work well IF you properly install the exterior wtr management system,,, most won't spend the $$ 'cause its cover'd up & they can't appreciate the value.

ps - ' tar ' is not the proper material NOR method,,, nor is the 3mil dampproofing coating rqd by the bldg code !

Last edited by stadry; 09-30-2009 at 05:50 AM.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote