Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-11-2014, 02:14 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

NEED severe help with my ROOF

I am a disabled veteran that has attempted to renovate a home that I have recently taken ownership pf. The house is in extremely terrible shape and I have tried to do the repair and changes with little to no help from family and friends. The most troublesome area is the box, on the top of the roof has begun to pancake on me. The walls on the north and south sides have begun to push out making the south roof that I repaired begin to separate from main load bearing wall for the roof. The jack rafters on both the north and south sides have dropped and are pulling away from the ceiling joists. I can see a gap of about an inch because of the separation. I have attempted to pull the walls the same time I jack the roof. Each time I attempt to pull the walls into place with jacking, the walls do not move and the roof begins to separate at the top from the box. There were a total of 6 layers of shingles with 2 layers of tin on the entire house. I have ripped off the south roof and it now has 1 layer of new shingles. I have enough shingles to do the north side which will help a lot with weight. The 4 corner 2X6 are each 14 ft and the distance from the floor of the attic to the box is roughly 7 ft ( I think it was originally at 8 ft) looking at the house from a distance at the front shows that the roof has shifted and begun to lean to the south. I am in need of some serious help and/or help

Jwertz80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 03:55 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,224