Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-06-2010, 08:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Need to insulate a concrete wall!!

Hey everybody, I'm a mostly self taught handyman that has been working for the last year on my landlord's 1855 octagon house. For the most part it's been a great learning experience. I've built a bathroom, installed hardwood flooring, painting and put my electrical apprenticeship knowledge to good use, but now I'm really stumped on what to do, hopefully someone can help me out.

I'm updating an apartment from paneling to drywall and while I'm at it my landlord would like me to insulate the exterior walls. The problem is, the exterior wall of the entire house has been constructed of concrete and stone, like stones the size of my fist. I know there's some wood in there, but it's all covered in concrete.

What are my options for insulating and sheetrocking the wall? Keep in mind, she would like it to be no more then about an inch thick since the trim around the windows is really ornate.

Thanks everyone!

TristanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 09:29 PM   #2

Two options I see:

1) fur out the wall with 2x2's or 2x4's (or steel studs) to create a flat planar wall surface to which you can attach sheetrock. Between the studs you can use foam board insulation of an appropriate thickness.

2) fur out the wall and have an insulator spray it with icynene foam insulation (or similar). That would be more efficient but more expensive.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:27 PM   #3