Need HELP Pricing PM For New Home Const - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-05-2011, 09:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need HELP Pricing PM for New Home Const

Hi folks. I just found this forum, and it seems very active and chalk full of interesting talented people. I'm here to seek some advice on what PM rate to charge for a new house. I'm an ex-builder/framing contractor who has been invited to PM a new home construction for a client. I've been out of the industry for about 12 years, and i'm not up to speed with current rates. Prior to my retirement from building, i have many years of residential building experience as a framing contractor and as builder, so i'm not new, just rusty.

The project is about $500,000 in hard cost, and the building is not complex, just an ordinary one story duplex with a full bsmt and two detached garages. I'm wondering what is the consensus on current PM rates. My buddy is currently building, and he has a group of good trades. We are teaming up on the job. He is telling me the market is 8% to 10% and higher. I'm more familiar with 5% to 7% range. The basis for the contract is that the property owner will write the checks and we manage the job. This job is in Ontario, where the economy is still very healthy and trades are busy in the neighbourhood.

Another area where advise is welcome is the progress draw schedule on the fee itself. I am thinking first draw after foundation, second draw after lock-up, and 2 more after that. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
James

Advertisement

James58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:57 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

If "your buddy" is currently building, why do you need rates from the internet?

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 10:16 PM   #3