Need Answer Before I Screw Something Up - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


I need some help with finishing off my shed's roof. Here's the problem; I have all the rafters (2x6's) attached to the ridge board but I left 5.25" on each end of the ridge so I could add a small overhang. I am planning on using 1x6's joined at the end of the ridge but don't know what to do about the small amount of exposure of the ridge. Can I just remove the inch or so of exposed ridge back to where the overhang will conceal it?

Thanks in advance to all who answer my dilema.

Larry

Advertisement

alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:35 PM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,297
Rewards Points: 3,234
Default

need answer before I screw something up


If you could post a picture it would sure be a help.

Advertisement

oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


I will attempt to add the photo of the gable end I am talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
need answer before I screw something up-gable-end-ridge-protruding.jpg  
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

need answer before I screw something up


i kinda like it sticking out. cut a nice pergola type shape into it
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tpolk For This Useful Post:
Willie T (05-03-2010)
Old 04-28-2010, 09:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Here's another pic of the gable end before the siding was attached.
Attached Thumbnails
need answer before I screw something up-shed-017.jpg  
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


I am moving this posting over from the construction section.

I need some help with finishing off my shed's roof. Here's the problem: I have all the rafters (2x6's) attached to the ridge board but I left 5.25" on each end of the ridge so I could add a small overhang. I am planning on using 1x6's joined at the end of the ridge but don't know what to do about the small amount of exposure of the ridge. Can I just remove the inch or so of exposed ridge back to where the overhang will conceal it?

Thanks in advance to all who answer my dilema.

Larry
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need answer before I screw something up


2 threads merged
I hope that is an illusion & those wires do not pass over the shed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:25 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,983
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

need answer before I screw something up


I would have reduced the depth of the ridge board to the fly rafter's thickness which is one size smaller than the barge rafter. 2x8 ridge to 2x6 rafters minus the ridge board thickness. Then 5/4 x 8 barge rater face nailed over the ridge joints behind. Then 1x3 rake board on top of barge rafter. So the barge joints and the rake joints meet- hiding the ridge board/fly rafter joint. It's late and I'm tired, can you tell?

Phone lines, Dave! p.s. Nice job on matching the grooves!

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:31 PM   #9
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
i kinda like it sticking out. cut a nice pergola type shape into it
A little sabre saw work, and you are in fine shape and aesthetically pleasing.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:23 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
2 threads merged
I hope that is an illusion & those wires do not pass over the shed
Yes, purely illusion. The wire are set back at least 6' from the shed.
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:52 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Quote:
Originally Posted by alke46 View Post
I will attempt to add the photo of the gable end I am talking about.
So what should I do here? Just cut the ridge board off flush with the end wall and then build out the 6" overhang?
Attached Thumbnails
need answer before I screw something up-gable-end-ridge-protruding.jpg  
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 12:20 AM   #12
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Shuswap, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,771
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Hi alke...I have a thread running here which might have some helpful photos for you. I just did a woodshed with a protruding ridge board. Still have not put the actual end fascia boards on, but you can see how the end of the roof was done.

It's the Gulf Island Building thread, and I think the appropriate posts are around number 635 and on, page 43. Hope it helps.
cocobolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:33 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Omaha, Ne.
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Thanks cocobola. I checked out your thread and was very impressed.

One question, are you going to put a fascia board on the front to cover the two end rafters where they are connected to the ridge?. Or is it just OK to leave it as is?

Thanks again,

alke46
alke46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:34 AM   #14
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Shuswap, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,771
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

need answer before I screw something up


Quote:
Originally Posted by alke46 View Post
Thanks cocobola. I checked out your thread and was very impressed.

One question, are you going to put a fascia board on the front to cover the two end rafters where they are connected to the ridge?. Or is it just OK to leave it as is?

Thanks again,

alke46
Yes I am, you're absolutely correct. Just need to find a couple of 1 x 6's to do that.
cocobolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:37 PM   #15
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Shuswap, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,771
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

need answer before I screw something up


I have to send you a vote of thanks for kicking me in the beh...

End fascia on the woodshed was about the last thing on my mind. So today I found some cedar and put it up. Took a couple of pics and realised the end boards at the top - which I also did today - weren't stained.

Got that done just before 8 this evening and grabbed a quick pic.

It really does make a difference, even though it's only a woodshed and not the Taj Mahal.
Attached Thumbnails
need answer before I screw something up-end-woodshed-2.jpg   need answer before I screw something up-end-woodshed-3.jpg  

Advertisement

cocobolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck Screw IceTreay General DIY Discussions 11 09-09-2010 02:56 PM
Swapping old 3ways with new (different screw color configuration on new switch) Michblaze02 Electrical 10 11-08-2009 03:17 PM
Can't get set screw in TP holder loose janralix Plumbing 4 08-12-2009 11:47 PM
gas line vs screw wobblybowl Plumbing 5 05-27-2009 11:49 PM
And they paid for this answer!! Scuba_Dave Electrical 29 02-16-2009 06:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts