Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2010, 05:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


I'm hoping to attach a top-mount multi-flu chimney cap to this chimney.

Before doing so, its pretty obvious I need to patch up the mortar cap. Any tips on what type of mortar to use for this? (I will need to drill ceramic screws into it, to attach the chimney cap.)
Attached Thumbnails
mortar for repairing chimney-img_0014.jpg   mortar for repairing chimney-img_0012.jpg  

kelley4180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 05:59 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


Ayuh,... The WHOLE Chimney needs Repointing, not Just the cap...

I'd think type S mortar, but somebody will know for sure...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 09:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


if there is no flue in there you need to look into new liners before those brick fall on the inside and block air flow
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 01:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


S type mortar? OK, I'll look into that.

There actually is a flu liner in there. Strangely, it only extends to about 16 inches below the top of the chimney. So, as a result, the last 5-6 rows of bricks are indeed exposed. I was hoping to put some mortar in there to strengthen those "unlined" brick rows.

Yes, repointing is on the to-do list for the spring. Good observation.
kelley4180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 05:04 PM   #5
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,707
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


The lack of flues in the upper portion could have accelerated the deterioration.

When you rebuild put in the flues with the proper mortar (not Type S for the flues). This way you will have a projection to slope your crown down from and attach a cap to.
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 07:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 93
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


You need to extend the flue pipes out of the chimney. Also for the wash on the top of the chimney I always use a portland/sand mix never mortar.
NJ Brickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:05 AM   #7
Contractor
 
Brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 129
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


The International Residential Code (IRC) and the International Building Code (IBC) require that flue liners be laid with refractory mortar conforming to ASTM C 199.
__________________
Northwest Indiana Masonry
http://www.nwindianamasonry.com
Brickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:01 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


Any tips on a product that would work to retrofit the last 16 inches of each flu with a liner? As mentioned, there is ceramic in there, but it just doesn't come up to the top.
kelley4180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:09 AM   #9
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,690
Default

mortar for repairing chimney


Quote:
Originally Posted by kelley4180 View Post
Any tips on a product that would work to retrofit the last 16 inches of each flu with a liner? As mentioned, there is ceramic in there, but it just doesn't come up to the top.

Yes, clay flues liners, just like the ones below, more than likely. Any masonry/brick yard should have them in the appropriate size. It may require you to remove some brick though, depending on how it's built. And as stated, refractory cement that's rated for exterior use.

jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete block Chimney problems scoggy Building & Construction 0 03-09-2010 07:00 PM
Cosmetic mortar coating over chimney. How thick? meltdowndave Building & Construction 0 11-14-2009 05:21 PM
Chimney repair: rebuild or repoint? cloud9 Building & Construction 33 09-22-2009 09:12 PM
Painting exterior brick with latex? hellothere123 Painting 10 09-19-2008 08:50 AM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.