Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-19-2012, 04:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Moldy smell UNDER the tile floor??

There's a bad smell emanating from what I think is underneath the floor tiles in my downstairs bathroom. Has anyone heard of this? Is there any treatment besides ripping up the floor and replacing?

RiskyBiz13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 10:25 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiskyBiz13 View Post
Is there any treatment besides ripping up the floor and replacing?
I'm not an expert, but I think replacing the floor will just postpone the agony. If you get lucky and can find the source of water and THAT is fixable, a new floor may survive. But first: How is the floor getting wet?

jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jklingel For This Useful Post:
RiskyBiz13 (01-19-2012)
Old 01-19-2012, 10:26 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jklingel View Post
I'm not an expert, but I think replacing the floor will just postpone the agony. If you get lucky and can find the source of water and THAT is fixable, a new floor may survive. But first: How is the floor getting wet?
The floor's dry to the touch, so I have no clue. It's obviously moist underneath, but I'm at a loss as to how. Perhaps a pipe under the floor?
Old 01-19-2012, 10:31 PM   #4