Metal Track Directly On Concrete? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Metal track directly on concrete?


Hi

Im getting started on an outdoor kitchen and looking to clear up some confusion I'm having. I am framing the kitchen with metal track and studs.

Can I attach the track directly to the concrete or do I need have something in between like a piece of trex or other non-metallic barrier?

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

Advertisement

Jawbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 07:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Metal track directly on concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawbreaker View Post
Hi

Im getting started on an outdoor kitchen and looking to clear up some confusion I'm having. I am framing the kitchen with metal track and studs.

Can I attach the track directly to the concrete or do I need have something in between like a piece of trex or other non-metallic barrier?

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.
I'd isolate the metal from the concrete.
What will be applied to the studs.

Advertisement

__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 01:51 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Metal track directly on concrete?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
I'd isolate the metal from the concrete.
What will be applied to the studs.
Once the frame is completed I will cover it with hardie or cement board and that will be covered with tile on top and stucco every where else.
Jawbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 11:29 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Metal track directly on concrete?


Oh and I live in Sacramento, CA if climate is a deciding factor.
Jawbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 01:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Metal track directly on concrete?


I would use a composite material. It's 3/4" thick and you could put the metal track on that. This way no water will ever make contact with the metal.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Rise Building methods - US versus Oz - Steel versus Concrete Jado Off Topic 17 09-15-2011 09:47 PM
Tips For Pouring Concrete? Root issues? Thoughts? kronic24601 Building & Construction 5 02-14-2011 07:52 AM
furring strips or 2x4s against concrete basement wall? denemante Building & Construction 15 01-28-2011 04:49 PM
Concrete Contractor and Masonry Contractor made a huge mistake homeowner12 Building & Construction 19 07-07-2010 10:37 PM
Filling sunken living room w/ concrete Q's phil. Building & Construction 5 07-10-2009 01:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts