Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 07:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

metal track


Hello, please help
is it possible to use a metal stud as a track ?

Thank you in advance,
Hila
Hila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:48 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,592
Default

metal track


Ayuh,.... I don't think it'll support the weight of a train,....

A track for What,..??
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:53 PM   #3
retired union carpenter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 323
Send a message via Yahoo to coupe
Default

metal track


a track is formed to accept the studs, just a tad wider. a stud will not fit into another stud.
__________________
as always, just my thoughts
good luck....coupe/Larry
take what helps? ignore the rest.
coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,560
Default

metal track


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hila View Post
Hello, please help
is it possible to use a metal stud as a track ?

Thank you in advance,
Hila

if you really have to use a stud as a track you shoot down a stud as the track and add another stud to it (double it up) and screw it off both sides, then add L clips on top the double stud to attach the studs....
hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hand drive For This Useful Post:
coupe (03-11-2013)
Old 03-19-2013, 10:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Default

metal track


yes you can I am a commercial framer, you just throw the track in like you would a stud. if its only one or two no big deal if you are framing a 80' wall out of track you better get some studs because they are less expensive
ubcguy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nothing to attach top track for metal studs wingman1153 Building & Construction 11 02-14-2013 04:58 PM
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Track Lighting Installation - No Electricty tazmajazz Electrical 11 10-19-2009 10:09 AM
How to drill through metal in headers Docfxit General DIY Discussions 5 07-05-2009 10:31 PM
LED track lighting feasible yet? GFW Electrical 8 01-22-2009 12:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.