Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-22-2012, 12:53 AM   #1
Maryland

Share |

Me ranting about nails...

I'm not a carpenter/framer by trade. I'm a home owner tackling my own remodeling projects. One of the things that has really driven me crazy over the past few months, is the amount of mixed information floating around regarding nails. More specifically, the proper nails to use to meet minimum code requirements. Let me provide an example...

When fastening 7/16" OSB wood structural panels to wall framing, the IRC indicates to use "6d common nail (subfloor, wall)" and a nailing pattern of every 6" along the edges and every 12" at intermediate supports - or in the "field". The nail specification appears the same in the 2000 and 2003 IRC and was changed to read "6d common (2" 0.113") nail (subfloor, wall)" in the 2006, 2009 and 2012 IRC. Apparently they added the dimensions to further clarify that a "common" sized nail was to be used in this application.

I've read numerous posts on this forum and others around the web regarding the proper nails for wall sheathing. In my estimation, a good 90% of replies to the question of "What nail do I need?" state to use 8d nails. This makes sense if the sheathing material is thicker, say 19/32" to 1" when the IRC calls for "8d common nail (2" 0.131")" or 1-1/8" to 1-1/4" sheathing when the IRC calls for "10d common (3" 0.148") nail or 8d (2" 0.131") deformed nail". Many replies also state to use galvanized ring shank nails for their superior holding performance. So my question is this...