Master Bath Remodel - Need Advice - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-06-2010, 01:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Master Bath Remodel - Need Advice

Okay guys need some advice please as I plan for my next project. I am a novice at best but tend to figure things out once I am directed

I am looking to remodel my master bath, its original to the house, built about 20 years ago. I don't have the exact measurements handy but its about 10x14 not inlcuding the tub and closet. The necessary things to do are:

1. Remove the vanity and sink - its a 60" vanity but only a single sink, so I will pull that and convert to a dual sink vanity. I am pretty comfortable doing this so this should be easy.

2. Under the sink is a kick heater that has never worked properly, it runs off a 220v line - so now I am trying to figure out if I should keep it or put in a radiant heat mat. Any recommendations? The bathroom currently runs off the master bedroom heat zone and we like to keep it cold for sleeping (usually 60) so the bathroom is pretty chilly for taking showers in the morning.

3. Pull up the tile floor and replace with either porcelain tile or natural stone. Here is where I get a little lost - Once I pull the old tile up, I am assuming the plywood sub floor will get ruined and I will have to pull that as well? If that is the case should I put plywood back down or concrete board? Once the subfloor is done, what are the correct steps? Should I put Ditra to be safe, then the radiant heat (if that is they way we go) and then the new tile? Some guidance on this process would be great as this is pretty new to me. I have tiled before but it was new contruction (previous house) and I just simply installed it over a plywood floor.