Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-22-2009, 04:35 PM   #1

Share |

Masonary Foundation: Possible?

Hi Everyone, Newbie here.

I plan to build a small house (16x20 or there abouts) and dream of doing it mostly from material on my property. I plan to dig a basement and would love to be able to use the excavated rocks (there will be a lot of them) to build a stone foundation for the house.

I realize there may be code issues but am curious if anyone has done this or knows of a "how to" guide. I plan to cover the outside (below grade) with a waterproof coating (need advise about that as well) and put perforated pvc (I'll have to buy a few things I guess:_)) at the base.

Is this silly or achievable?

Thanks

ballen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:17 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074

It sounds like a very difficult and costly venture if you want to use only local materials. - It would be faster, better and cheaper to buy the necessary materials and save the rocks/boulders for landscaping. - A very noble thought though!

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:20 PM   #3
Licensed P.E./Home Insp

Wow, I met a guy that was doing that a few years ago. Building the house using trees and rocks from his property. He had to bring in the fasteners, of course, to build it to code. I ran into him at an ASME seminar in Columbus, Ohio, 3 weeks after 9/11 (I remember the time period because I had to drive to Columbus - wife wouldn't let me fly). I might still have his contact info at work, tucked away in a box. If I have time I'll check.

But he said he did it. He said the first thing he put on the property was an old camper to live in. Second thing was a small saw mill to cut his wood up.