Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 02:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Main beam in basement attached to the chimney in 2 sections. Same in the attic?


My main beam in the basement is in two sections. It's attached to the chimney. It's straight across, but not a continuous beam. If my explanation isn't doing it justice, I'll post a pic.

I would like to remove my chimney because I will be able to gain valuable closet space. I was planning to replace that main beam in the basement anyway with continuous steel beam with adjustable jacks.

Question is, is it likely my beam in the attic is also attached to the chimney? I have a very difficult time getting up into my attic. The attic access is very small and I don't fit through it very well. Is this type of beam attached to the chimney in 2 parts normal? House built in 1919:

Thanks.

strategery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 06:34 AM   #2
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,028
Default

Main beam in basement attached to the chimney in 2 sections. Same in the attic?


The roof system is built completely different from the floor system. For 1919, there may not even be a ridge at the top of the peak of the roof. You will have to rebuild that side of the house if the chimney is removed, floor,walls, siding, and the roof. I assume everything is built around the chimney so will have to be filled back in. Pics would be best..

hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 06:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,995
Rewards Points: 3,106
Default

Main beam in basement attached to the chimney in 2 sections. Same in the attic?


Are you aware of just how much work is involved to remove a chimmney?
Have you called in an engineer to size this beam and to look over your plans on doing all this?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Main beam in basement attached to the chimney in 2 sections. Same in the attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hand drive
The roof system is built completely different from the floor system. For 1919, there may not even be a ridge at the top of the peak of the roof. You will have to rebuild that side of the house if the chimney is removed, floor,walls, siding, and the roof. I assume everything is built around the chimney so will have to be filled back in. Pics would be best..
The chimney isn't on the side of the house, it's more in the middle.
strategery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:56 AM   #5
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,028
Default

Main beam in basement attached to the chimney in 2 sections. Same in the attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by strategery View Post
The chimney isn't on the side of the house, it's more in the middle.

that is better then the exterior wall. always start at the top and work down for demo of the chimney. your first step is to get the chimney below roof height and repair the roof. after that you work down through the floors and repair each floor as you go until the chimney is below first floor level and down into basement/crawlspace level...
hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ductwork to basement from attic. Squeakyhinge HVAC 6 07-08-2011 03:51 PM
chimney leaking into attic kelley4180 Roofing/Siding 10 02-12-2010 09:55 AM
Replace Main Beam in different location? jrdamien Carpentry 5 01-10-2009 01:13 PM
i beam in basement, notched joist component Building & Construction 1 03-18-2008 01:47 AM
Basement 2x2 furring strips, basement clutter, top plate not attached to floor joists touchsuhas Remodeling 5 12-26-2007 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.