LVL Beam / Load Beam? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 10:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


I'm looking to finish my basement. The area is rather small and in order to open up the area I'm looking at removing the support pole placed in the middle of the room. The pole is currently rated not to exceed 14,800 lbs. The pole supports two LVL beams ( 11' 3/4" H x 13' 10" L x 1' 3/4" W....dimension for each beam). One side of the LVL beam is placed on the foundation and the other end is placed on top of two 2x4s sandwiched together.

Will placing two additional LVL Beams (same dimensions) be enough to remove the pole? Do I need to attach the new LVL beams to the existing beams. If so, what is the best methods to use. Do I need to jack up the beam prior to placing the new beams in place. Any help with this matter would be great. I'll attach photo if necessary. Thanks

Advertisement

tarr618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


Can you restate your beam measurements please?

Pictures would help. I doubt you'll be able to remove the pole.

Advertisement

Reilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:27 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


No, you can't do that.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 08:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


So you want to span almost 28' without a pole?
In my garage -I spanned 24' - required triple 14" beams
This was supporting a great room above, and a walk up attic
My beams were engineered - I actually went with triple 16" instead

Most lumber companies can give you a size on an LVL beam
But based on my size you would be looking at 16-18" beams
That's if it's possible - depends upon the load, number of floors
This is the main support for your house & should be engineered for the load. My building Dept required engineered stamp

You can't simply wing it, this is a main support & would be a catastrophic failure if undersized
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 10:34 AM   #5
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


The way I read it is that the beam comprised of a double LVL. The total length of the beam is 13'10". There is a post in the middle and the spans are half of the 13'10" or 6'11".
Currently the beam is bearing on the foundation on one side, a post in the middle (the one he wants to remove), and a double 2x4 on the other side. My guess is this double 2x4 is tied into a wall.
The OP wants to take out the post in the middle and make a single span of 13'10".
This should be completely doable but to size it properly, you need to talk to someone that understands loads. Simply doubling it won’t work. Many lumberyards offer the beam spec service for free.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 04:06 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


I'm sorry, here is a little clearification. What Clutchcargo said is correct. The width of the room is 13'10". The measurement I provided on the LVL was one of the beams. The two LVL's are sandwiched together. Total width of the beam is 3' 1/2". The side with the two 2x4's is attached to an unfinished wall.

With the correct LVL beam do I need to jack up the beam prior to placing the new beams in place or can I attach the LVL's together and simply remove the pole? Thanks for the help. I'll attach photo this evening. Thanks
tarr618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 04:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


That's a much better span distance
You would need to go to a lumber yard & have them size the beam
Mine did it for free, I did buy my LVL's from them
They want to know what bears on the beam
Walls above, total stories of the house, roof area/way it slants

They will be able to tell you if you can just sandwich another beam or two or if you will need a bigger beam

I needed (3) 16" LVL's to span 12' with a wall above (walk up attic) & roof load
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:44 PM   #8
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


You may be able to just laminate the laminated beam with 1/2" steel plate on each side. A structural engineer or someone that knows how to run the software will be able to spec that.
ScubaDave, 3x16" LVL seems overkill for a 12' opening. Is there a point load on that too?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


That's the engineered size, this is a side view of the addition
The beam in question is where the 17' & 19' lines meet
It is supporting the attic wall & 1/2 the floor above
It then supports 1/2 the Cathedral roof & 1/2 the attic roof

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 08:38 PM   #10
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


I see, you have a lot of tributary floor load.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:01 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


Clutch,

Would steel be cheaper than LVL and which would be easier to install? How would I go about contacting someone to run the numbers? Would a local building supply be able to help.......and last question....I'm I getting into an area that I should pay someone else to do the job. I just keep looking at it thinking that I've tackled tougher projects, I just need to know I'm placing enough support for the space/weight. Thanks for the help
tarr618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 11:30 PM   #12
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Shuswap, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,771
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


Have you considered taking your information to your local building inspector's office? I'm sure he will give you good and correct advice.
The job itself is not difficult. You just need to be certain it has adequate strength and proper bearing at both ends.
cocobolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:28 AM   #13
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


tarr, could you post some pictures?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:16 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


clutch----I'll place them online tonight---thx
tarr618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:25 AM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,359
Rewards Points: 3,512
Blog Entries: 4
Default

LVL Beam / Load beam?


Any supplier who sells the LVL should be able to size the beam for you.

Advertisement

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSB Stronger than Plywood? Weathermaker01 Flooring 15 12-22-2012 10:06 AM
Beam Replacement? Steve Dailey Carpentry 5 05-19-2008 09:46 PM
Ridge Board vs Beam carrying load fauer Building & Construction 3 01-19-2008 10:39 PM
Beam Load Ron Building & Construction 5 09-17-2006 07:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts