Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 01:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Load Bearing Wall??


Hello, I am attaching a pic of the roof trusses, and a drawing of the floor plan, and what walls I want to remove. I would like opinions on if those walls are load bearing. I keep getting different answers. The house is single level, built in 1980, and is on concrete pad. Block home construction. The yellow highlight shows the walls I want to remove. Based the on the roof truss design, I dont think they are load bearing.

I appreciate it!!
Don
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Attic.pdf (57.8 KB, 65 views)
File Type: pdf floorplan and wall removal.pdf (63.5 KB, 71 views)

crocs1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 02:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Bearing Wall??


The walls parallel to the front and back of the house have the trusses resting on them. That would be the back wall of the garage with the door to the dining room and the wall line continuing through the middle of the house. They look load bearing.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 03:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Load Bearing Wall??


Ok, so question, what if a I sadwiched some of the trusses in that area with 2x4's, like say 4 of the trusses? Instead of putting in a column and header for support.
crocs1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 06:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Bearing Wall??


Quote:
Originally Posted by crocs1977 View Post
Ok, so question, what if a I sadwiched some of the trusses in that area with 2x4's, like say 4 of the trusses? Instead of putting in a column and header for support.
I'm not qualified to advise truss modification.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 08:26 PM   #5
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Load Bearing Wall??


Quote:
Originally Posted by crocs1977 View Post
Ok, so question, what if a I sadwiched some of the trusses in that area with 2x4's, like say 4 of the trusses? Instead of putting in a column and header for support.
The only people who can answer this is the truss company, or have an architect or engineer come out and look.
__________________
Joe Carola
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Load Bearing Wall Removal Question! Please Help! Evil Scotsman General DIY Discussions 2 10-25-2010 05:52 PM
Nasty Load bearing wall with twisted studs, and crown issues rob_chalk Remodeling 4 08-24-2010 09:27 AM
Is this wall load bearing - pictures attached jen5219 Building & Construction 16 08-01-2010 01:17 PM
Load Bearing Wall Issue? iggy913 Building & Construction 1 07-28-2010 07:45 PM
Removing a 4 foot opening in a load bearing wall (for fish tank) ~callie~ Building & Construction 1 07-15-2009 06:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.