Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2012, 06:31 PM   #1

Share |

Leveling Mobile Home Ceiling

Ok, I know this is likely to start some opinion wars, but I gotta ask.

I have a double wide mobile home that has multiple additions built on. So wife and I were talking about the one thing that would make the place nice. Leveling the ceilings topped the list. I'm pretty handy, but I'm not a structural engineer by any means.

Throughout the trailer, the high point in the ceiling is in the middle where the two halves meet and is about 9 foot tall at that point. It slopes down to the ends to about 7 foot.

Here's what I want t do. I want to raise the outside walls so the ceiling joists are level. At the same time, I want to change the angle of the roof from 3/12 to 6/12. And I would like to pull all additions under one cohesive looking roof rather than looking like a lean to shed.

Facts: My exterior walls are 2x4 with double layer 1/2" plywood on the outside. My current ceiling and roof joists are all in one very technical combination.

Here's where I'm getting hypothetical. Assume the foundation support is sufficient to handle the added load.

To raise my ceilings, I'm aware I'd have to remove the existing roof structure. Plan on that as my roof sheathing is not healthy. I would have to add in rafters and joists. My question is more along the lines of the walls. Could I add an extension to the 2x4 walls to make the ceiling height level? Maybe using nut & bolt fasteners? Or would I have to tear out and rebuild the walls?

What do you all think? Other than this is a totally stupid idea (I agree), or I should just sell the mobile home and build new (mobile home not worth to get my money back), or sell the whole damn thing and live somewhere else (we absolutely love the property).

Thanks,
Tim

myowneq is offline   Reply With Quote