Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 11:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


I had a pipe that needed to be moved from the middle of the room into the wall. To accomplish this I needed to break up the concrete and dig up the foundation to expose the pipe underground.

I have accomplished all of this and had a plumber move the pipe into the wall. Now comes the reconstruction. The pipe was ABS so I wrapped it in some soil fabric, then poured down a large amount of rock, concrete and soil mixture. that I originally removed.

I leveled it off and then poured in the wet concrete.

My mistake was I did not pack down the mix of rock, soil and old concrete. I only realized this after the fact. I am worried now that the concrete will not be stable and begin to crack.

This work was done in a bathroom. There will be beams of 2x4 laid down on the concrete and then a sheet of plywood on top of the 2x4 for the floor. My question is, will this be strong enough? I thought about it and the plywood/2x4s should distribute the weight and their shouldn't be a huge amount of pressure on any single area. This is only an area about 5 feet long and 2 feet wide (average). It was a repair job, not a full reconstruction.

I am also hoping that because I poured in a large amount of rock and old concrete that there will be much less give than with pure soil.

Am I ok or do I have to redo this?

overzealous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 02:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


Do the 2x4s run perpendicular to the excavation? (will there be a 2 foot span of 2x4 over the new concrete, or a 5 foot span of 2x4 over the new concrete?)

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 02:46 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


No way to know for sure if it will hold up. If the joists span it, I wouldn't worry about it quite as much.

The best practice would be to drill in some reinforcement to span the gap (tying old and new concrete together) and re-pour the concrete on top of a good solid base. That way you'll know for sure. Everything else is just a guess.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 05:39 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


I don't know the code for plumbers but filling in with what you used would not be allowed for an electtrical pipe. The large rocks and concrete cannot be allowed to touch or basically in the same level as the pipe due to the fact they will move and can actually break a pipe.

I would think the plumbers have a similar code to follow.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 06:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


Been there done it many times...The backfill materal you used is ok for plumbing pipe...Lay out your 2x4's across the concrete repairand insulation you plan to use and finish your project...You will not have any problems to worry about on what you did...Your doing ok there...

Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 03:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


It will depend on how much concrete you poured over the loose fill mixture. And how large an area you're talking about.
I don't know how you can venture a prognosis without the details of the job.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

Laid Down Concrete Incorrectly


Experience...If he put even 1-1/2" of concrete mix over the cut out area it would seal it up...This repair does not support the bathroom flooring he is installing...The old concrete floor is doing that on each side in the room...If he gets a flood of water , whatever , nothing will stop it from coming in the basement as it has many other areas it can come in...The part of the this repair he was worried about , he does not need worry about...From what he said here it will be fine...I told him that...OK

__________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
When the time comes for you to leave this world
the only thing you get to keep is what you gave away...
Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
repairing concrete patio flooring & attached walls 1655graff Remodeling 2 01-21-2009 12:21 PM
Sleeve options for plumbing through concrete? Bruce L Plumbing 6 06-14-2008 09:38 AM
new concrete floor next to old concrete floor mattroos Building & Construction 10 08-28-2007 01:32 PM
stone veneer formula tom1st Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 07-08-2006 04:48 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.