Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2009, 03:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

knotty pine vaulted ceiling

Hello,
We are adding a new sunroom to our home and would like to put knotty pine on the vaulted ceiling. The room is 12WX18long. Ceiling is 15 foot high and walls are 10 foot high.
I was hoping someone could give me some helpful information on installation. We don't want to pay expense of "pre-finished" so we thought we would go to a lumber yard to buy the knotty pine. I was interested if any one had any ideas on length size since the longest I can find is 12 foot long. Therefore we are going to have to cut and piece. Has anyone done this? Which width is better 4 6 or 8 inches.

ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated. I am a novice at building, but really like the look of the vaulted wood ceiling and want to put one in! thanks for the help

Last edited by raghib; 01-10-2009 at 04:18 PM. Reason: really need SOME advice in any form!
raghib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 11:17 AM   #2
Idiot Emeritus

Rewards Points: 1,030

When I built my house 12 years ago, I used 1X4 and 1X6 rough-sawn tongue and groove pine on all the ceilings except the kitchen, bathrooms, and closets.

20' is about the longest you'll find it, but 12-16 is more standard. If you specify lengths, you'll usually pay more. Random lengths are the least costly, you'll get anything from 6' to 16'.

Tongue and groove is pretty easy to install, as is ship-lap. Ship-lap must be nailed on the surface, the nails on tongue and groove can be concealed.

All boards will warp and twist to some degree, it's much easier to straighten a 4" wide board than an 8" one. Most of my ceilings are all 4", a few are 4" alternating with 6".