Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 103
Share |
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


Hello and thanks,

I am guessing I know the answer to this question but wanted to throw it out here for confirmation.

We are turning a window into french doors.

Engineer has asked for a 4x10 header which we have installed.

We now have to reroute some electrical and here is my question.

We have to run the existing romex up and over the door to continue the path from the existing outlets to each another..

This would involve a small 1/2 inch hole drilled through the studs in the sapce above the new 4x10 header ..

Is there a problem with doing this at all? Or better yet, is there a distance I would need to be from the end of each stud where the hole would go?

Thanks for any info
beachfront71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,561
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


all holes are to be drilled in the center width of stud and maybe 4 or 5 inches up from the top of the header
hand drive is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 103
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


Added Picture .. The red line is the new path the romex would take to connect outlets ... the old path ran straight across below the window...

You can see there are som new studs that would need a hole drilled for the romex .. albeit small


Last edited by beachfront71; 04-22-2012 at 11:16 AM.
beachfront71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,521
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


Not going to be an issue.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 103
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


Thanks,
I assumed that was the answer but this will get inspected and wanted to confirm it.
beachfront71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:38 AM   #6
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,561
Default

king stud, jack stud holes ..


^ yep,for hole placement just split the distance between underside of top plate and top of header and stay in the center most portion of the stud, it will be fine
hand drive is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help caulking and filling nail holes in my trim hadees Painting 13 11-25-2012 10:32 PM
Metal Stud Top Plate onto I Beam for NON Load Bearing Wall jdm001 Building & Construction 2 06-24-2010 10:31 AM
Alternatives for fixing holes in tile roof felt Squash_Pro Roofing/Siding 4 05-13-2010 06:20 PM
Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs rjschwar Building & Construction 6 01-27-2010 01:05 PM
Plasma TV Mount problem - one of the 4 screws cannot hit a stud..... wasserkool Home Theater 4 01-05-2009 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.