Jumping Jack Or Plate? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 03:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


I live in Houston. Sand and clay under the old deck. Putting down about 200 sq ft of slab.

Having trouble deciding which kind to use. Any thoughts? I dug 8" to get it cleared but plan on 2" of gravel/dirt and 4" of slab.

Any ideas are welcomed.

Thanks

Advertisement

Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:38 PM   #2
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


I have a question, what is "jumoing" and a suggestion, 4" gravel under 4" of washed sand, under your crete.

Andy.

Advertisement

AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


Thanks Andy,

No rebar or mesh?
Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:16 AM   #4
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


#3 RE-BAR 24" O.C. both ways.

Andy.
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:58 AM   #5
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,796
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


Plate compactor without a doubt for your situation.
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Jumping jack or plate?


Yeah I found a plate rental.

Someone experienced will pour for me, but I'm doing the form myself.

1. Is it necessary to drill into the house slab for rebar, or can I just use mesh and an expansion joint?

2. Does it matter the concrete type before picking an expansion strip? I have seen the "quickrete joint strips".

Advertisement

Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP PLEASE replacing rotted sole, top and bottom plate dolson Remodeling 4 04-16-2010 07:54 PM
Replacing Section of Sole Plate RM575 Carpentry 3 03-28-2010 10:31 AM
Getting Steel Plate Flush with Concrete Floor MrBill_DIY Flooring 7 11-29-2009 09:54 AM
Telephone Jack Connection Problem jogan Electrical 9 04-20-2009 07:10 AM
Phone/Fax Wall Jack cmgith Electrical 5 04-19-2009 12:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts