Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Journeyman Electrician


Hello,I'm a journeyman electrician in the construction field. Received my license in 1988. Have a residential job where two 1 inch pipes are passing through a 9 x 1-3/4 floor joist. Of course I'm going to remove the electrical metallic tubing. Just wondering how the joist should be repaired. The inspector said replace the 12 foot length. is that correct.

Lukata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,929
Default

Journeyman Electrician


Replace the 12' lenght of what?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:47 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Journeyman Electrician


The 12' foot floor joist.
Lukata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:55 AM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,295
Default

Journeyman Electrician


How the joist is repaired depends a lot on where the damage is----sometimes the entire joist must be replaced-----We have several structural engineers here and some very experienced framers---

If you could post a picture some one will offer suggested remedies-----

However, If the inspector asked for a new joist---you may need a stamped engineers drawing to get approval for anything short of a new joist.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:11 AM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,295
Default

Journeyman Electrician


If no picture is available----at least let us know where the damage is located on the joist---and how large---

is the joist notched? Hole ? how big and where?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:17 AM   #6
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,496
Default

Journeyman Electrician


Welcome to the Forum
It is a good idea to include your location in your profile.
Here'show to Post pictures in the How To section.

To add your location to your profile see more How-To

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 09:14 PM
Licensed Electrician or Not? taras1 Electrical 10 04-29-2011 06:23 PM
Do I Need to Call in a Electrician to Check This Work? taras1 Electrical 6 12-13-2010 05:07 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 08:39 AM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.