Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 06:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Share |
Default

Insulation


I have a 105 year old house want to blow in some insulation in the walls. Going to use a hole saw at top of wall then blow insulation into holes. What i want to know is how to figure how much I need. Also remodeling kitchen tore down plaster and lath in there. Should i put a vapor barrier over the insulation then put the drywall up. Have heard lots of different things about the barrier.

Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Insulation


You'll need 2 holes in each stud bay. One to pump it in and an escape route for the air. Seal up each room as tightly as possible as insulation will blow out the top hole in each bay.
The more familiar you are with house framing, the fewer places you will miss.
To make sure you do a complete job, bring in someone to do a thermal scan of the area you did so you can fill in the holidays.
To figure what you need, just measure the room. You can always return the unopened units.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N.W Suburbs Illinois
Posts: 107
Default

Insulation


Ron have you done this before?
Kurt1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Insulation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt1968 View Post
Ron have you done this before?
No. I've seen it done on jobsites I've worked. Another reason for the 2 holes is if you have a firebrake in the wall that divides the stud cavity.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 07:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Default

Insulation


You do need a vapor barrier in the walls on the warm side.
mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Fiberglass Insulation: How Do I Cover the Attic? chueh Building & Construction 3 11-08-2010 02:33 PM
Adding insulation and storage to Cape Cod Side Attic turin39789 General DIY Discussions 5 11-08-2010 10:50 AM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 09:49 AM
Installing new insulation in my basement and removing the old moldy insulation. Fixitgeorge Remodeling 3 10-17-2006 08:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.