Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-06-2010, 11:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Insulating And Ventilating my new shed (Gym) Helllppppp !!!

Hi NOob here just after a little advice for my own shed,
Ok so i decided to bite the bullet and get a shed built in my back garden, its going to be 8m x 3m so quite big now i have half of it built, need to knock my old flimsy shed down and carry on with new one........Man i didnt relise how expensive this was gonna be !!! Im going to be using it as a home gym with tv computer, carpet etc !!
Now i no its gonna need insulating and ventilating to stop damp now this is a must with as i dont want to ruin my expensive electrical stuff, i no there is so many ways but there all confusing me so any help or advice would be great.
Shed is as follows
Used my flat decking as a foundation
Timber joists with 3/4 inch ply for floor
3x2 frames for the walls with 1/2 inch ply fixed to it
The front of the shed has been done in 3x2 for frames and a layer of visqiune and feather edged boards on top (more pleasing on the eye than ply
Pvc opening windows
Flat Roof 7ft at the back going to 6ft 6 at the front made from timber joists again and 3/4 inch ply
And the roof will be finished with mineral felt when the other half is done, also will have fascia boards and gutters....
Any ideas for the best way to insulate and ventilate would be great....
I will be plasterboarding the inside and plastering but what to put inbetween and where to Ventilate i really want to minimise damp.

THANKS in advance

shanew1108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:06 AM   #2

What are you going to use to heat the shed ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:12 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
What are you going to use to heat the shed ?