Insulating Partial In-ground Basement? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-23-2010, 02:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Insulating partial in-ground basement?

Hi all.. newbie here!! Great site

I have a raised ranch. My basement is less then 4' in ground. When we moved in, installed R13 batt insulation in the above ground framing. Then we framed because I was originally going to have someone spray in foam. Now I'm reconsidering. Plus our finances are real tight these days. I have about 12 sheets of 2" pink board insulation. My options are..

1. In order to install 2" correctly, I need to remove my metal stud framing. It's a lot of work, but at the same time, we plan on living in this house for a long time. Is it worth it?

2. Do I just leave the concrete alone essentially leaving an "air gap" insulating method?

3. Or leave the framing alone, return pink insulation and use towards someone coming in and spraying foam insulation?

Couple things...
* We live in NE IL and get a wide range of temps
* We have not had any water issues. Our house is up a bit on a hill and even when it rains like crazy and electricity out, we still don't have any water issues
* The basement is large.. apx 2,400 sq ft and some of it is living space/office space/kitchenette/storage
* We will be installing hydronic baseboard heat. It's what is in the rest of the house

Here is a pic of current condition..

Advertisement

HiccaBurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 04:13 PM   #2

I am hoping you get some good replies because I have exactly the same question that you have.

Advertisement

Polywanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 10:30 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,064