Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 07:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Installing a new chimney crown


My apologies if this isn't the right place for this question.

The crown on my chimney is crumbling away to nothing. Last night, I stopped at my local concrete place and picked up a precast crown. My plan is to install the new crown, tuck point the rest of the chimney (only about 3-4 feet sticks above my roof line), and then give the whole thing a good coating or two of a chimney waterproofer. My question regarding the install of the chimney crown is this. Should I lay a bed of mortar on the top run of bricks and set the crown on that or should I use some type of high temp silicon to fasten it to the top run of bricks? I currently have a 6" liner installed inside my clay flue and will also be using a pourable insulation around the liner at the same time I fix the crown.

ikessky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:27 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing a new chimney crown


I would use the high temp silicon just to be sure. Doesn't concrete tend to crack in high temps?

st_browndc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 08:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing a new chimney crown


Decided to tackle the job this afternoon. Here is the old crown that I managed to pull off.


Here is the chimney minus the crown.


Here is the new crown mortared in place.


I also filled a couple small cracks in the mortar of the chimney, but it was in pretty good shape, so I didn't push it. Now I'll wait about two weeks and give it a few coats of a chimney water sealant. My perlite should be here in a few days, so I can get my liner insulated also.

The job is far from perfect, but it looks OK from the ground and will keep water out. What more do I really need?
ikessky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing a new chimney crown


Good job!
littlecleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking chimney crown DeanPk Building & Construction 2 08-26-2010 08:41 PM
new chimney crown willy65000 Roofing/Siding 2 03-25-2010 09:27 PM
Casting Chimney Crown smitty286 Building & Construction 4 06-18-2008 02:03 PM
chimney crown Halron Roofing/Siding 2 06-15-2007 07:07 AM
chimney crown repair. gap between flues andy_b General DIY Discussions 4 02-19-2006 11:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.