Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-08-2009, 10:20 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

inexpensive way to make a damp dirt basement functional

I hope I'm doing this posting correctly, it's my first time.
Anyway, my husband and I have found a very nice, but old townhouse that we would like to rent, but the only drawback is that the basement has a dirt floor, and it's damp in some parts. I don't believe the problem's too severe because I haven't smelled any mold or mildew.

I'm only looking to use it for storage, but I just didn't want our belongings directly on the dirt floor. One member suggested using pallets and plywood which is cool and inexpensive, but what can I do about reducing the moisture level.

I have a son who does construction work so he could help me with whatever good suggestions you have.

Thanks
TM

tmorrissette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:58 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

To stop moisture coming up thru the dirt put down a 6 mil thick layer of poly (plastic)
If you can do it in one piece that would be ideal
Since you are renting the pallets/plywood would be inexpensive
Before putting anything to valuable down there make sure it doesn't get wet in heavy rains

Might also run it by the landlord see if they will pick up the cost of the plastic
I'm not how big a piece you need...or how much $$ it will cost
But might not be that much $$

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 04:28 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Plastic is probably the cheapest way to go as mentioned, and is effective as long as the seams are properly sealed with special tape and properly sealed against the walls. You should figure out where any water is coming from first.

If there is water in the crawlspace there will be some mold/mildew and it is not an ideal place for storage unless the above is addressed.