Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-06-2010, 06:33 PM   #1

Share |

Ideas for bizarre door?

Hey Folks! I am new to this, but I'll try to keep things short and to the point. I have a small 1950's bathroom, which is really 1 full bath and 1 half bath connected by a doorway that was added by a previous owner. We've struglled with what to do with this doorway since we bought the house - the physical presence of the door itself takes up precious space, and the functional concept is goofey (who gets to lock the door, toilet user #1 or user #2? ). We are finishing up a bathroom remodel, which we kept simple, e.g. stripped to studs but no moving of walls and plumbing locations, and I really want to make this eyesore look nice. We can't do a pocket door becuase there is plumbing in the walls on either side of the frame. We've considered bi-fold doors, accordion style doors, and even a curtain(most of these ideas I hate), but we just can't think of anything that maintains the functionality, looks nice/high quality, and doesn't eat up tons of space. Any ideas I am not thinking of here???

Mstrvb19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 06:53 PM   #2

Ideas for bizarre door?

Does each bathroom have its own separate entrance, or is the door between them the only way into one of them? If they have separate entrances, why not just remove the door and wall the opening in?

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 06:58 PM   #3
STAFF

Ideas for bizarre door?

How about double doors?

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:13 PM   #4
Stairguy

Ideas for bizarre door?

without knowing the actual layout of the house, I would have to agree with Jim. It seems to make the most sense to me.
Millertyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:20 PM   #5
Wire Chewer

Ideas for bizarre door?