Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 07:47 PM   #1

Share |

I need advice please

Hi,I am new here and i have been a trim carpenter for about 14yrs,mostly new homes in the Louisville,Ky area and out in the county.Since this last yr or so new homes are drying up as anyone knows. My main employer sort of folded up for now and left all us subs on our own.I have installed windows and exterior doors in new homes before for a company at a hourly rate of 20.00 an hour. i mostly install the inside trim package,doors,base,trim out windows and sills,crown etc...I am on my own now and do not know pricing and can not afford the 499.00 for some of the pricing sites I have seen for contractors.I know most inside trim prices. I installed 6 vinyl windows and 2 Exterior doors for a builder. He does not like the framers to do it because they never shim them right or even level them so he asked me to do it.I want to know what a framer charges to install a single pane window,just put it in and nail it around the outside and apply the tape around the outside and of course level and shim the middle. I have been told 100 bucks,that seems high.Can anyone tell me what the going rate is for this?Man I would sure appreciate it.Thanks if you answer!

Mark

Old 10-10-2008, 07:50 PM   #2

I need advice please

Since this is a DIY site, we discourage people from offering pricing approximations for a contractor's work.

Heck, if you're a trim carpenter, there's no reason that you can't install a window in a house. If you need a hand we can walk you through it.

Old 10-10-2008, 08:42 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

I need advice please

Try: http://www.contractortalk.com/
Old 10-10-2008, 09:26 PM   #4

I need advice please

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post