Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 05:35 PM   #1

Share |

I have a serious problem with a contract project I have in GA-professionals please he

My name is Edward Spacer and I am a professional contractor.I bid and obtained a job in Ray City,GA to convert a garage into a mother-in-law suite.its a mess.There are somethings I admit I did wrong,but in the twenty years or so that I have been doing this,I never ever ran into this sort of thing before.The original estimate before bid was for $8,000.00 and half to be paid up front,materials and labor,and the final pay to be alloted when the job is finished.The actual contract that was signed stated materials,but I had to hire a subcontractor,and he wouldn't work unless there was a $500.00 deposit for his labor. Fine,out of the initial deposit was a 33% for labor,which was $1,500.00 out of the first deposit.That left an amount of $2,500.00 for materials.I had set a certain constriction schedule,sources of where my materials come from,and yes,they would have been obtained peacemeal,but the materials deliveries financially and timewise flowed within the schedule and pricing listed.But,this is the start of where things went wrong:

1 week delay the bank took to finally release the funds from the account.This delayed purchases and deliveries.The project scheduled to start on March 1st according to contract,and was for three weeks afterwards.

Old 03-21-2011, 05:44 PM   #2

I have a serious problem with a contract project I have in GA-professionals please he

And what do you want from us?

Old 03-21-2011, 05:55 PM   #3