Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2010, 09:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

how to tie in pre fab roof trusses to exixting roof


do i need to cut off the overhangs on the exixting rafters to make my last truss able to anchor to the house and reach the correct spacing or is it against some kind of code that i cand cut rafters ?

john7261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:25 AM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,319
Default

how to tie in pre fab roof trusses to exixting roof


The rafter tail/overhang is the only part of the rafter you can cut without structural consideration.

Whether or not you need to is hard to say without more details. Pictures or drawings would help.

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straighten Roof Trusses A.Gilbert General DIY Discussions 4 04-06-2010 07:24 AM
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 07:33 PM
Flat roof questions, advice, ballpark estimate JerryH Roofing/Siding 18 11-07-2008 04:08 PM
Setting trusses for a Hip roof? TonyGG Building & Construction 13 09-13-2008 08:47 AM
Flat roof - Rolled? - leaks Advice? JJ2001 Roofing/Siding 4 11-19-2006 06:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.