Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2009, 12:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


We have just discovered that our builders did not tye down the roof trusses with hoop iron now we need to do this but the building is built (not plastered) how do we tie the roof trusses down now? there are four rooves 15 x 8 meters in size and we live in the mountains so winters can be windy in Cape Town, advise would be appreciated.

nicolebrunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 04:45 AM   #2
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


Is the sheetrock hung yet? I have never seen hoop iron used to tie down trusses. We use H1 clips around here, you should call your building official and ask how they are supposed to go on. But if code requires it and your builder left it off, he should come back to take care of that.

KennMacMoragh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 680
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


If your internal wall is blockwork, this method may be acceptable. However, your Regs may require something different.
how to tie down roof trusses-phpayker8am.jpg
stuart45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:44 AM   #4
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolebrunda View Post
We have just discovered that our builders did not tye down the roof trusses with hoop iron now we need to do this but the building is built (not plastered) how do we tie the roof trusses down now? there are four rooves 15 x 8 meters in size and we live in the mountains so winters can be windy in Cape Town, advise would be appreciated.
Why is this your problem to fix? What happened to the builder? Did you have a framing inspection?
__________________
Joe Carola
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:13 AM   #5
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,274
Rewards Points: 2,126
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


If this is Cape Town, South Africa, procedures are likely to be radically different than anything in the States.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:16 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

how to tie down roof trusses


IP does track to South Africa

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 08:33 PM
Flat roof questions, advice, ballpark estimate JerryH Roofing/Siding 18 11-07-2008 05:08 PM
Setting trusses for a Hip roof? TonyGG Building & Construction 13 09-13-2008 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.