Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-01-2008, 12:35 PM   #1

Share |

how to soundproof a sump pump yourself?

HI-

I have a roommate whose basement flooded and the condo assoc. put in a sump pump that is so loud it will keep you up for hours. You hear the water and vibration for about 7 seconds and it stops and starts again 5 seconds later and again 7 seconds of noise etc.... I am a light sleeper and it can drive some one to insanity!

She has little money to hire someone and i wanted to help her build one.

what supplies do i need to get to make it soundproof? Do i need to make a closet around it? I need instructions 101 b/c i have never built anything before but willing to try anything.

Please can some one help me!!!!!

Any help would be appreciated!!!

Going out of her mind,
Sylwia

sylwia812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 01:34 PM   #2
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

The vibration is it coming from the pipes? what material did they use to pipe the discharge end of the pump. was the pipes fastened to any supports. you could cut the pipes and install rubber furnco's to help absorb the vibration. building the closet would be the best option if the above does not fix the noise. Get back to us . BOB

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:56 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylwia812 View Post
HI-

I have a roommate whose basement flooded and the condo assoc. put in a sump pump that is so loud it will keep you up for hours. You hear the water and vibration for about 7 seconds and it stops and starts again 5 seconds later and again 7 seconds of noise etc.... I am a light sleeper and it can drive some one to insanity!

She has little money to hire someone and i wanted to help her build one.