Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2011, 06:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


The rim joist and sill plate are rotten and I need to replace them on at least 12 feet. The problem is, I have a 12' x 15' x 6" concrete slab in the way. You guessed it, right above this is a sliding patio door. There doesn't seem to be any flashing or water proofing. It seems that they tried to key in the slab to the rim joist. The scrap of denim is to keep the critters from getting in. The rim joist now has the consistency of mud. These are only 4 of many pics.
Any suggestions? Should I get rid of the slab or try and do it from the inside?
I basically want to do this right and once and for all.

Thanks for your input
Danny
Attached Images
    


Last edited by Dan71; 07-17-2011 at 06:15 PM.
Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:08 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


This a quick sketch of the profile of my current set-up.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab-sketch.jpg  

Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:25 PM   #3
KemoSabe
 
loneframer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 644
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


That right there is about as wrong as I've ever seen that done.

Typically, we will step out every 5th block, 2 coarses down, waterproof the foundation, flash the bejesus out of the exposed wood and excavate a trench in the fill down to the corbelled block for support of the slab.

I don't see any efficient way to repair that without ending up in the same situation in a few years without ripping it out and starting over.
__________________
It's not that it took him an hour to make 100 bucks, it's that it didn't take you 10 hours to save 100 bucks.
loneframer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to loneframer For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-18-2011)
Old 07-17-2011, 06:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 825
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


is it really necessary to connect the slab to the foundation wall? i see that as a most likely problem area.

you may have to cut the concrete slab with a concrete cutter to give yourself some room to get in there with a new rim joists. not sure what to do if there is rebar in your concrete, will this trouble the saw? i just don't see how this could be done from the inside of the house.

Knucklez
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Knucklez For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-18-2011)
Old 07-17-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


I would cut the slab in such a manner that it bisects the Sono tube piers and then break up the concrete between the cut and the house.
Make the repairs to the rim joist and cover it in to prevent moisture from coming in contact with the wood.
Avoid any connection between the concrete work and the house. You may have to put in more piers to support the new cement work.
Another option would be to replace the removed concrete with brickwork.

In either case, make sure of good drainage. Connected to the foundation footing tile, if possible.

Last edited by Wildie; 07-17-2011 at 07:12 PM. Reason: add paragraph
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-18-2011)
Old 07-18-2011, 08:35 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


Well, you just confirmed what I thought.
My common sense told me it was built wrong, but since I'm not a pro, who am I to argue.
Now I have to get rid of that slab. When in doubt use C4?
Thanks for the comments.
Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:29 PM   #7
Member
 
AGWhitehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,378
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
I would cut the slab in such a manner that it bisects the Sono tube piers and then break up the concrete between the cut and the house.
Make the repairs to the rim joist and cover it in to prevent moisture from coming in contact with the wood.
Avoid any connection between the concrete work and the house. You may have to put in more piers to support the new cement work.
Another option would be to replace the removed concrete with brickwork.

In either case, make sure of good drainage. Connected to the foundation footing tile, if possible.
I agree with this...in addition I would put in membrane flashing along the entire face of the structure to be buried. On top of that place a drainage board (corrugate sheathing would suffice) to allow any moisture along the building face to drain away unimpeded.
AGWhitehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AGWhitehouse For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-18-2011)
Old 07-18-2011, 04:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


I guess I forgot a small yet important detail on my sketch. That is the slab is approximately 48 inches off the finished grade. In this case drainage from ground run off is not the culprit. More likely than not the lack/absence of waterproofing is the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab-sketch.jpg  
Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 04:40 PM   #9
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,184
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


Get rid of the slab and build a deck.

When you think you’ve seen everything….and to think that was someone’s great idea at the time.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-18-2011)
Old 07-18-2011, 07:30 PM   #10
Member
 
AGWhitehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,378
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


Yes, I agree with Kwik. Either put up a deck system or put in some stairs to a grade patio. Sounds like the person who built that had access to some cheap concrete...
AGWhitehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 09:53 AM   #11
Member
 
SteelToes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 185
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


What about...

building a temporary support wall inside the basement and right above on the first floor.
Cutting the damaged section out (joists and sheathing) 1-1/2" past the existing foundation wall.
Pour new concrete and waterproof on the outside.

Ideally you would want to get rid of that slab and build a deck like already suggested but that would involve some massive work. You would have to pull the sheathing off to the nearest “sister” replace the rim board and joists install new sheathing and new flooring + interior walls.

This way you can maybe get away with just cutting the rotted section out…
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab-719.jpg  
SteelToes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SteelToes For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-20-2011)
Old 07-19-2011, 09:58 AM   #12
Member
 
AGWhitehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,378
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


You'll need to maintain a minimum bearing depth for the joists and sill plate on that foundation wall.
AGWhitehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AGWhitehouse For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-20-2011)
Old 07-19-2011, 10:08 AM   #13
Member
 
SteelToes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 185
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


Quote:
Originally Posted by AGWhitehouse View Post
You'll need to maintain a minimum bearing depth for the joists and sill plate on that foundation wall.
Of course.
All of that would have to be calculated but it looks feasible to me
SteelToes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SteelToes For This Useful Post:
Dan71 (07-20-2011)
Old 07-20-2011, 09:14 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


I went to City Hall yesterday afternoon and got my permit. The slab is coming down today. Wish me luck!
Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:51 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Dan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 11
Default

How to replace a rotten rim joist behind a raised concrete slab


It fought long and hard, but the slab came down! Darn saw only cuts 5" deep. The slab was 6" and the 1/2" re-bar was in the last inch! The slab never even twitched!!! Went back to the rental store and traded the saw for a jack hammer. Wasted 1/2 a day!! It's all gone now and so is the rotten wood. Thanks for all your comments they were very helpful. Cheers!
Danny

Dan71 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dan71 For This Useful Post:
AGWhitehouse (08-07-2011), oh'mike (08-07-2011), Wildie (08-07-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lay plastic between ground and concrete slab? Flt_Simulation Flooring 8 04-22-2012 05:56 AM
concrete slab load bluebird5 Building & Construction 2 04-16-2011 04:18 AM
Insulating Split-Level Ground Floor Concrete Slab illusion8055 Building & Construction 7 03-02-2011 08:26 PM
Concrete Form for Raised Patio PerpetuallyRepairing Building & Construction 6 04-08-2008 06:33 PM
Concrete slab weeps moisture dale h Flooring 2 04-30-2005 10:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.