Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-09-2012, 12:57 AM   #1

Share |

how to repair sagging/loose soffits?

I've never tried this before, but we have a number of issues with the soffits that need to be remedied. We only recently bought this house, and heard from the neighbors that a lot of the damage was done during the 2004 hurricane season in Florida. All the really loose and missing pieces you can see in one particular picture were caused by the roofing contractor who replaced the shingles when we purchased the house.

Is this a job a DIY'er can deal with, or should I consider getting in a pro? Someone told me that the way to at least deal with the sagging soffits was to put in tek-screws to prop them up - anyone ever heard of that?

And how do I get into the tight spot under the sharp roof angle to fix the loose soffit there?

Note- I think most of the actual pieces that have come off are available - I found them on the ground. The house dates from the 70's, so whether the actual material used is still available or not I don't know.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-sagging-soffit-1.jpg   how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-soffit-1.jpg   how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-soffit-2.jpg   how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-soffit-3.jpg   how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-soffit-4.jpg  

how to repair sagging/loose soffits?-soffit-5.jpg  

Last edited by nick1933; 08-09-2012 at 12:59 AM.
nick1933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:12 AM   #2

Highly unlikly the roofer had anything to do with that mess.
Sure looks like it was just installed wrong in the first place.
Looks like there was no blocking to nail the soffit to in the middle and not enough nails used to hold up the J at the top of the siding, or it was nailed into rotten wood.